Our trustees

Our Board of Trustees is drawn from a range of backgrounds, their experience and expertise helps to guide the Foundation’s mission and activities.

Sir Nigel Carrington (Chair)

Nigel Carrington became Vice-Chancellor of University of the Arts London in 2008, following a career in law and business. From 1987 to 2000, he was an international lawyer with Baker & McKenzie and was the Managing Partner of the firm's London office and Chair of its European region. From 2000 t. 2007 he was Managing Director and Deputy Chair of McLaren Group, the automotive technologies group. He holds a law degree from St John's College, Oxford, and studied History of Art at the Courtauld Institute of Art.

Mr Charles Asprey (Trustee)

Charles Asprey is a collector, freelance curator and publisher. Charles is a Trustee of the Michael Clark Company, Studio Voltaire and has been member of the Henry Moore Grants Committee since 2011. He has recently co-designed and financed a purpose-built 12-sided building on the Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens in London, housing the legendary Cabinet Gallery. Charles is chair of the HMF Grants Sub-Committee.

Ms Celia Clear (Trustee)

After teaching with VSO in Malaysia, Celia joined Weidenfeld & Nicolson as an editor of illustrated books. Four years later she moved to the British Museum and commissioned a range of books by curators which brought their expertise to a worldwide audience. In 1990 British Museum Press was relaunched with Celia at its head. In 1994 she took on the exciting role of developing Tate Enterprises Ltd. Celia retired in 2010 and spent four years on the board of the National Gallery Company and on a committee of the Art Fund. She is a director of Henry Moore Foundation Enterprises.

Mr Peter Wienand MVO (Trustee)

Peter is Head of the IP & Commercial Team at Farrer & Co. Peter has over 20 years of experience of advising on publishing matters, information law, IT and brand licensing and brand protection. Among his clients are leading national cultural institutions, media corporations, publishers, celebrities, universities and research institutes. He has been Deputy Chair of the Advisory Panel on Public Sector Information, which advised Ministers on opening up opportunities for greater re-use of Government information. He also represents the firm in its membership of the Professional Publishers' Association, is a member of the Society for Computers & Law, and is a co-founder and former chair of the Museums Copyright Group. Peter was made a Member of the Royal Victorian Order in the Queen's birthday Honours List in June 2015.

Mr William Edgerley (Trustee)

Bill Edgerley was responsible for all major UK property developments within the P&O group for 15 years. He is a Trustee of the Royal Greenwich Heritage Trust. Prior to joining P&O in 1985, Edgerley worked for the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and a Civil Engineering Consultancy Practice. He is a former Trustee of the Frink School of Sculpture and the Cutty Sark, where as Chair of Cutty Sark Enterprises he was responsible for overseeing the £50m implementation of the conservation and interpretation programme. Bill is Chair of the HMF Finance & General Purposes Sub-Committee and is a director of Henry Moore Foundation Enterprises.

Mr Antony Griffiths (Trustee)

Antony Griffiths was educated at Christ Church, Oxford and the Courtauld Institute, University of London. Previously Keeper of the Print Collection at British Museum, Antony is a fellow of British Academy. He has written many books, exhibitions catalogues and articles on aspects of printmaking. Antony is currently Chair of Print Quarterly Publications and of the Walpole Society. He is a member of the HMF Collections Committee and Review Panel.

Mr Martin Barden (Trustee)

Martin is the director of Culture Consultants Ltd, a boutique London-based consultancy which he founded in 2012. The business works with cultural institutions to develop loyalty and fundraising schemes, enhance systems and processes for revenue generation, and marketing and communications for customer acquisition, retention and relationship management (CRM). He previously held senior roles with Tate, the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, and Sadler's Wells Theatre. Martin is a director of Henry Moore Foundation Enterprises.

Ms Pam Raynor (Trustee)

Pam Raynor a has a background in finance with experience across several commercial sectors including retail, FMCG, financial services, and media, most recently as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial officer of Conde Nast Publications Ltd. Originally from Yorkshire, she studied mathematics at University College, London before qualifying as an accountant in the City, with Deloitte. She left Deloitte to join one of her client companies, Harrods as CFO, and has since held senior finance roles in several companies, including Diageo Plc, Legal & General Plc and the HMV Media Group. As well as her roles in finance, she has experience as COO for IT, legal affairs including contracts, copyright and trademarks, HR, and property, and has for many years acted as a trustee of a number of pension funds. Pam also played a major role in the setting up of the Conde Nast College of Fashion and Design, which offers both BA and MBA degrees as well as short courses. Pam is Chair of the HMF Investments Sub-Committee.